This post is my January entry in the DSMA Blog Carnival. If you’d like to participate too, you can get all of the information here.

This month, the topic is: What is the one thing you are looking forward to in 2012? (diabetes related)

Who makes New Year’s resolutions? And who makes them expecting to keep them? Certainly not me!

Diabetes-related resolutions are all-too easy to make:

‘This year, my A1c will get to below 5.5%.’

‘I will check my BGLs six times a day. Every day. For the whole year. And track the results on an Excel spreadsheet.’

‘No more chocolate cake for breakfast.’

Well, they’re all great. But if your A1c is sitting at 11.9%, getting under 6% is a huge ask. And if you are currently using the same box of strips you cracked open on 1 January 2010, increasing to six checks a day is a giant leap. OK – the no chocolate cake for breakfast is probably a good one. For everyone. Just saying.

We all know why resolutions fail. When we expect too much, it’s too easy to give up.

I don’t make diabetes-related resolutions (or any sort of resolutions), but what I do love about the beginning of the year is the possibility, the optimism and the opportunity to wipe the slate clean.

And I look forward. I have a lot to look forward to this year and diabetes-wise, for me it’s all about expanding networks and horizons. I am looking forward to building on the networks I started developing in 2011. I am looking forward to the planning of the 2013 International Diabetes Federation World Diabetes Congress which is in my home town, Melbourne and I am looking forward to the choir of the DOC voices getting louder, more in tune and being heard more broadly.

Looking forward. It’s a good thing to do. And it allows you to look back a little and see how far you’ve come.

