I had one of those weeks last week that makes me eternally grateful for my job! On Monday, International Diabetes Federation president, Professor Jean Claude Mbanya visited Diabetes Australia – Vic and gave two presentations to staff.

I was then lucky enough to interview Professor Mbanya and you can see the interview here.

Then on Wednesday, I visited our Autumn Camp. Fifty kids with diabetes were enjoying Victoria’s beautiful Autumn weather in an idyllic bush setting. We arrived at camp to see the kids playing frisbee, kicking around footballs, lazily lying around on the grass chatting and scaring me senseless as they launched themselves off the flying fox. (Not a single kid screamed. I, on the other hand, wanted to cover my eyes in terror.)

I am incredibly fortunate to have a job that I love. But even more than that, I have a job that gives me so much. I meet inspirational people – quite regularly, actually. I get to visit kids with diabetes at camp and see what an impact a few days away with other kids has on them – and then I speak with their parents about how their kids have returned home more confident, comfortable in themselves and fiercely independent.

Someone said to me that other day how it must be wonderful doing a job where I know that I’m ‘giving back’ to the community. Actually, when I really think about it, I think I’m the one who’s getting the good deal here. Eternally grateful and incredibly lucky!

