I’m grouchy. Grouchy and phlegmy and feverish and shivery and did I mention grouchy?  I am, to borrow from the delightful Kerri Sparling, ‘real-people-sick’ and I’m not managing very well. I don’t do sick. I don’t do invalid and I certainly don’t do lie-on-the-couch-and-relax-for-a-couple-of-days-and-step-away-from-the-phone-emails-computers-etc. This advice handed out by my GP. For $76. Thanks! Everyone at work was telling me the same thing. For free.

I’m not sure if having diabetes has given me a ‘sick threshold’ higher than the average bear. I’m sure that before my pancreas gave up its day (and night) job I used to take advantage of every sniffle and beg to stay home from school. Actually, I was a nerd at school, so that probably wasn’t the case. But I’m sure that I wasn’t so stupidly dogmatic about being stoic and valiant and all those other words that basically mean, in this case, trying to prove a stupid point. And that point is that I don’t get real-people-sick.

So, I’m sitting up in bed right now – which means that I’m following doctor’s orders – except for the bit about disconnecting. I have my i products (i.e. Phone, Pad, Book) all open and I’m looking at a million different things.

Which leads me to the next point in this irrelevant and boringly meandering story of which, really there is no point. I can’t switch off. I tried climbing into bed with nothing more than a book, but then I remembered that I’d missed yesterday’s Epicure in the Age newspaper. So I grabbed my iPad and opened the Age app and read restaurant reviews and recipes. And then I started thinking about baking, so I then checked out a couple of foodie sites, found a great recipe for lemon curd cupcakes and wrote a shopping list on my iPhone. Then I opened something else on my iPad and then grabbed my MacBook and here I am typing away. Not resting. Not sleeping. Not reading.

The thing is, even if I put a ban on all electronic iGadgets (which, let’s face it – Never. Gonna. Happen.) I still have my diabetes buzzing-and-beeping gadgets that I, you know, rely on. To live.  I’ve been checking my freaking blood sugar every fifteen minutes and making teeny-tiny boluses on my pump and tweaking basal rates because this real-people-sick thing is making my sugars want to play in the teens.

At no point of the day – ever – am I not using some sort of battery-operated machine.

The other day I was speaking with a friend who had just returned from a weekend-retreat of healthy and quiet living. There were many rules for the retreat and these included: no mobile phones (or landlines for that matter), no processed foods, no meat products, no coffee (I stopped listening at this point and possibly started hyperventilating at the thought), no electronics of any description, no smoking and no recreational drugs. And no talking. Seriously – forty-eight hours of no talking – so, I guess no need for the phones.

I reckon I would have lasted about…oh…. I don’t know…thirty-three seconds. At which point, I would have asked a question; probably, ‘Can I have my mobile phone back, please?’

Of course, I’m sure the ban on electrics would not have extended to medically necessary devices. But it did get me thinking about how it would be impossible for me to actually have any time where I could completely switch off and be ‘at one with nature’.

I’d be lying if I said that all the technology (diabetes-related or not) around me annoys me. It doesn’t. It makes me feel connected and up-to-date. And the access I have to a pump, BGL meter and CGM gives me access to information, which helps me make informed diabetes decisions dozens of times a day.

So I’m not turning off. Resting to get over this real-people-sick: sure. But disconnecting? Not so much. In any sense of the word!

