Today, I’m seeing blue everywhere I look. Admittedly, that could be becuase I am wearing blue jeans, a blue shirt, a blue ring, a blue necklace and, terrifyingly, blue mascara.

And I can’t help but notice how much blue there is in our world. Today, the Melbourne skies are a particularly bright blue which made me smile as I opened the blinds in my bedroom. Even Mother Nature is celebrating Blue Fridays and raising diabetes awareness!

My daughter’s school uniform is dark green, but today she has soft blue ribbons tying up her ponytail and a blue circle pinned to her school dress. And she’s more than ready to explain why to people. ‘It’s about diabetes awareness. It’s important people know about diabetes’, she told me earnestly. Sure is, kid.

Cherise Shockley is the founder of the Blue Fridays campaign. She’s one of those people whose passion and commitment to diabetes is incredible. And she’s an amazingly nice person as well. Read all about the campaign here.

Wearing blue on Fridays throughout November is an easy way to get people thinking about diabetes, but you need to do more than just throw on a blue scarf (oh yes – I have one of those with me, too). You need to tell people why you are wearing blue, what it means, why it’s significant to you. Post a photo on your Facebook page and tell people why you’ve put it up there. Tweet a photo with the tag #BlueFridays. Ask people at work to adopt Blue Fridays for the rest of the month. By doing these things, people will be talking about diabetes – it’s a way to get diabetes front and centre of people’s minds, for them to think about donating to diabetes causes, to think about getting themselves or a family member checked for type 2 diabetes, to think about the symptoms of diabetes.

Next week on World Diabetes Day, the world will be lighting up in blue as monuments across the globe take on a blue hue. You can read about it on the IDF website. Keep an eye out for iconic buildings in your city.

Go get your blue on! And get talking!

