I’m feeling rather drained today after a restless night of little sleep. For once, the reason is not diabetes. Rather, it’s my poor husband and his neck/back/shoulder. He’s been in a world of pain for a couple of weeks now thanks to a middle-of-the night visit from Miss 8-year-old who woke after a nightmare and wanted to cuddle and feel safe. She crawled into our bed without either of us realising and situated herself comfortably right between us – we’re sure in one of these positions. This resulted in me sleeping with one foot on the floor and poor Aaron being scrunched up in a corner. He woke in pain and it’s been getting worse ever since.

She quite often runs into our bedroom in the mornings when Aaron has gotten up to go to the gym or to jump in the shower, and dozes, cuddling up next to me until it’s time for us to get up and face the day. Or on weekends when we’re enjoying a sleep in, she might jump on the bed, promise to be quiet and then wriggle, whisper (LOUDLY) and be very, very rowdy peaceful until we give in and get up.

But this night was different – she was in there for a good part of the night and the result was not a fun morning of cuddles and tickles. Instead, Aaron has been dealing with this horrid pain.

Last night, for the first time, the pain actually woke him from his sleep. And at 4am, his tossing and turning as he tried to find a position that didn’t cause excruciating pain woke me. We got up to find some pain-killers and then I located a heat pad and warmed it up for him to see if it would help with the pain. It didn’t. Neither of us got back to sleep. So today, tiredness is reigning supreme!

I can’t remember the number of times I’ve woken Aaron up in the middle of the night, asking him to grab me some juice or jelly beans to treat a low BGL. Or the times when for some reason (looking at you, dislodged pump lines) my BGL is sky-high and has woken me and we’ve lain there together as I will the nausea to bugger off.

I can’t remember the number of times my CGM alarm has woken him, but not me. Or the number of times a pump alarm has sounded demanding a cartridge to be re-filled or a battery replaced. (Yes; yes I know I should pay more attention to the low battery/cartridge warnings!)

In my experience it’s the night-time diabetes things that impact more on Aaron than the day-time things. Even when I don’t need his help, I do turn lights on, drop things, walk into walls etc. as I stumble from my sleep to deal with the errant low.

So there is absolutely no complaining from me as we get through our day today. Because for once, I was helping him out in the middle of the night. It’s kinda nice to be able to give back even if it was only one night.

