This post is my April entry in the DSMA Blog Carnival.  If you’d like to participate too, you can get all of the information here. Here’s this month’s topic:

Does the sunshine and warmth of Spring urge you to change up your exercise routine?  If you don’t have an exercise routine, does it inspire you to start exercising?  And if it’s not Spring in your corner of the world, what season are you heading into and how does it impact your fitness routine?

We’re heading into Winter here. We’re half way through Autumn and until last week, it’s been incredibly mild. Last week’s colder weather has been a shock to pretty much everyone, I think.

Until earlier this year, exercise was something I avoided with great skill and passion. For some ridiculous reason, I started walking and for an even more ridiculous reason, I’ve kept it up. Admittedly, I’m not walking every day as I was over the warmer months. But even now with daylight savings over and the colder evenings setting in, I’ve still managed to go for a walk at least three times a week.

With daylight savings over, it’s dark now by about 5.30pm, so on weekdays it’s impossible for me to walk while it’s still light. I make sure that on weekends I walk early in the day, so it’s not a problem then. The friend I walk with is happy to walk at night and I’ve discovered that the park we walk around is really well lit after dark and there are a lot of people using the track.

Also, and I say this with great trepidation, my walking has become running. And I haven’t fallen over which surely should mean that I qualify for some sort of medal or award. If I’m really honest, I’d tell you that the reason for running is just to get the exercise over and done with faster. I don’t run when I’m with my friend because we have far too much talking to do, but when I’m on my own, I just want it finished so I can go back home and eat Nutella straight from the jar.*

I’m really excited that in six weeks I’m heading to the northern hemisphere for a month and a half. The thought of warmer weather is part of the excitement. Will I be packing my runners so I can build exercise into my day? Absolutely not! But then, I walk a lot when I am travelling. My exercise may be incidental rather than planned, but that’s okay – I prefer it like that anyway!

I can (will) find any excuse possible to not exercise, so I’m pretty sure that as the weather gets even colder and rainier and the appeal of snuggling on the couch with comfort food and a decent DVD gets harder to resist my exercise routine will be tougher and tougher to maintain. But I’m pleased that it’s kept going this long. And it’s going to mean that I’m more than ready for the Run Melbourne in July this year. Stay tuned!

*This is possibly true. #NutellaHeist

