Take StepsEvery magazine in the supermarket is warning me that if I don’t start moving NOW my body won’t be bikini-ready in time for Summer. I’d tell you that I’m panicked by this, but I’d be lying. Usually, my eyes glaze over and I reach for another block of Lindt Intense Orange chocolate.

There will be no bikini wearing, but there will be moving. It’s time for me to get back on the walkies bandwagon, and what better way to get going than the threat excitement of a fun run.

I’m kicking off Summer by taking part in Take Steps for Good HealthDiabetes Australia – Vic’s inaugural summer festival. And like the optimistic fool I am, I’m going to do the 8km WALK (not run). There are several reasons why I believe I can safely manage to do this. For starters, I can walk – one foot in front of the other and all that.

Also, I proved to myself earlier this year, that daily walking around a park is actually not too torturous enjoyable, provided you have a friend with you and a football team doing sit-ups nearby. Also, in the last few months, I’ve walked – and I mean seriously walked – around Paris, New York, Barcelona and Marrakech, often for hours at a time. Admittedly, I won’t be able to stop along the way for a cupcake or sangria, but after the walk I will be taking advantage of Summer’s Healthiest Picnic which will showcase healthy living stalls, cooking demonstrations and entertainment.

Plus, I have promised myself a new pair of shoes (runners – boring) for the walk and a new pair of shoes (ballet flats – excellent!) afterwards, so I am looking at this as a win for everyone. Well, my feet.

You can join my team – THE CUPCAKES! – or join on your own by going to the registration page.

Disclaimer

Diabetes Australia – Vic is my employer. I have not been asked to write about this event. I’m just telling you about it so you can a) join me, b) laugh at me c) do both.

