There have been many phases in the nine year old kiddo’s time, some more enjoyable than others. The Yo Gabba Gabba time was definitely not a favourite, however I was sad to say goodbye to the Charlie and Lola stage.

Now, the beautiful work of Hayao Miyazaki and Studio Ghibli is on high rotation and this is one stage that I am more than happy to live through. There is much to love about these beautiful films and their often challenging themes make for very interesting conversations afterwards.

A couple of weeks ago I treated the kidlet to tickets to the Melbourne premier of the latest Studio Ghibli film, The Wind Rises. It was gorgeous – as expected – with breathtaking scenes (clouds! The clouds are always so beautiful) and an aviation theme that was captured beautifully. Without giving too much away, one of the lead characters has tuberculosis. It got me wondering if there were any anime characters with diabetes.

If I was the creative type and could draw an anime character, I would create a girl or boy with diabetes and tell their story with this beautiful artform. But I can’t. However, there’s an app for that – or at least an anime generator.

So today, I did this! And there, hanging from her waist is her insulin pump. She’s thinking about eating a cupcake, by the way.

photo

 

