Paul Stanley, Eric Singer, Gene Simmons, Tommy ThayeWhen there is a lot going on in any aspect of life, the KISS principle makes a lot of sense. And given that when I’m busy, I often get stupid, keeping things simple is a really good idea.

At the moment, I am just waiting for one or more of the balls I have in the air to crash to the ground. In the meantime, I’m trying to simplify things to manageable levels.

While that may mean taking some shortcuts – preparing extra portions when cooking so I can make one meal stretch to two or saying no to things I’d ordinarily say yes to – I’ve learnt that paring things back to the absolute minimum is sometimes incredibly refreshing.

In an endeavour to ensure that I am able to manage just the basics of my diabetes management so I am happy and don’t feel like I’ve dropped the faulty-pancreas ball, I have really cut back. The necessities don’t go (insulin gets delivered; BGLs get checked etc.) but the extras do get put on hold for a while. The post-meal BGL checks are not as frequent and I made the decision to not wear my CGM for the moment because I wasn’t doing anything with the data. I dealt with any alarm by silencing and ignoring it; not acting to remedy what it was telling me was wrong.

So what does this mean? Well, my average BGLs are probably going to be higher, and the variance between my higher and lower readings will be greater. As a result, my next HbA1c is probably going to be less impressive than the last.

But I am not feeling overwhelmed and I don’t feel like I am failing diabetes. I have made a conscious decision to dial back on my usual level of care to something that I feel that I can achieve. While my diabetes care may be less, my mental health hasn’t really taken a beating. It means that I feel okay about my diabetes and okay about my wellbeing. I suspect that the result of not cutting back may have been both falling in a screaming heap.

Keeping it simple keeps me in line; it keeps me content and it keeps me happy. Win, win. KISS KISS!

