Tuesday night’s tweet chat (splendidly moderated by Kim, who I think it is fair to say has become an expert at herding the kittens of #OzDOC) was all about the ‘what we’re told’ versus the reality of life with diabetes.

We have guidelines, we have evidence, we have best practise. All of these things are important. They provide gold standards.

Then, we have life. And everything gets thrown out the window.

Everyone (diabetes or no diabetes) uses short cuts and life hacks in their day-to-day life. These are accepted and understood to be necessary in cutting through the every day. Saving time and energy makes sense – we’re all busy!

And those of us with diabetes get to add chronic health condition management on top of everything else! We know what the guidelines say; we know what the posters in the waiting rooms tell us; we hear the words our HCPs use about management of diabetes.

But the reality? A lot of the time we ignore it all and do what we can; despite what we know.

Here’s what I know.

  • I know how frequently I ‘should’ change my pen needle (if on shots)
  • I know how frequently I ‘should’ change my pump line
  • I know how frequently I ‘should’ change my lancet
  • I know that I ‘should’ eat a low GI breakfast each morning
  • I know how frequently I ‘should’ see my HCPs
  • I know I ‘should not’ consider chocolate a food group (or Nutella. Or coffee.)
  • I know how many times a day I ‘should’ check my BGL
  • I know the times throughout the day I ‘should’ check my BGL
  • I know I ‘should’ get my HbA1c checked every three months
  • I know how many days I ‘should’ leave my CGM sensor in
  • I know where I ‘should’ site my pump cannula and sensor
  • I know I ‘should’ carry emergency diabetes supplies in case my pump fails
  • I know how I ‘should’ treat a low blood sugar.

But here’s what else I know.

There is no place for ‘should’ in diabetes management. There is ‘this is what I do’. And that – THAT – is good enough!

It’s Friday! Check out this great string quartet playing a bit of Vivaldi (and Mozart and Weill).

