At last year’s World Diabetes Congress (WDC), it was terrific to see a significant number of ‘consumers’ attending. For the first time in Australia, people with diabetes were directly encouraged to attend a scientific conference.

However, there was much disappointment that people living with diabetes who had registered to attend were unable to access the Exhibition Hall.

Expo Halls at conferences are an endless source of interest and excitement. I am usually registered as a speaker so I have full access to conference Expo Halls and it is during my wanderings that I find out about the latest and greatest in technology and treatment therapies. I get to speak with reps from the companies and ask questions that are usually not addressed in the glossy brochures, and, most importantly, I get to pick up and handle new devices to see how they feel in my hands, fit in my handbag (always returned!) or sit in my bra (it’s where I wear my pump; not trying to steal anything!).

The frustration at WDC was that as well as hosting the displays for pharma companies, the Expo Hall also accommodated device companies. Consumers couldn’t get in there to see the latest meters or pumps.

And here is the problem. In Australia, we have the Therapeutic Goods Act 1989 (the Act) which states that advertising of prescription-only medications to consumers is prohibited. However, it is okay for devices to be promoted directly to patients.

The Act is out-dated and it’s time that we revisit the current ban on promotion of drugs to people with health conditions. Why, as a person living with diabetes, can I not speak with the pharma company releasing a new insulin? Why can I not ask their reps about side effects and drug profiles and why the new medication is better or how it is different to what is already on the market?

The truth of the matter is I can find this information anywhere I want. A quick visit to Professor Google will provide me with the answers to any questions; patient blogs will explain the consumer perspective and an image search will even show me the packaging of the medication. When the Act was written, it was 1989 and the internet was not in the palm of everybody’s hand.

But today? Today such restrictions are ridiculous and only promote the idea that the people actually living with whatever health condition the medication has been designed to treat are too stupid/too ignorant/can’t be trusted with this hallowed information.

The ridiculous thing is that even if I can see and read about and ask questions to do with drugs and new therapies, I can’t simply go and buy them. I can’t rock up to Mae, my gorgeous pharmacist, and ask her for the large pack of whatever new drug I’ve just read about.

There is still the ‘middle (wo)man’, the doctor. But what is so terrible about me going to see my doctor and asking about a certain therapy? How is saying ‘I’ve read about this newly listed medication and I was wondering if it is something that would work for me?’ going to do anything other than empower me and encourage a balanced and consultative relationship with my HCP?

The current system reinforces all the things that patient advocates are trying to break down: out-dated ideas that the keepers of knowledge must only be healthcare professionals and that patients will be told what to do. And then do it. It forgets who is actually driving the bus that is my healthcare. Me!

Additionally, the Act as it stands now only serves to hold back real consumer involvement and engagement at scientific conferences. I don’t subscribe to the archaic ‘conferences aren’t a place for patients’ attitude held by many out-dated HCPs. We should be looking to events such as Doctors 2.0 and You for how to bring together patients and HCPs. We should be looking to the ADA conference which has a significant number of consumers in attendance – all of whom are freely permitted to wander the Expo Hall. We should be moving away from the ‘us and them’ approach so entrenched in Australia.

