One of my favourite websites is Messy Nessy Chic. This is a site full of whimsy and fun and the completely unexpected. And each week, there is a list of 13 things I found on the internet today.

This is my all-time favourite find on this site and I’m still trying to work out how to buy them both, ship them to me and spend my days driving around in them, wearing a flowery dress and scarf in my hair.

In my internet wanderings lately, I’ve found a few things. They are nowhere near as quirky or quaint. But nonetheless, I thought they were worth a share.

OVER TO YOU, MS SPARLING

Kerri Sparling needs no introduction to the diabetes blogging world. She keeps on getting better and better and better (and publishes a book!) and then goes on the telly and does this.

It’s all perfect, but for me this was the line that resonated most: ‘Patient stories are the new wave of advocacy’. Yes, they are! Thanks, Kerri.

TYPE 1 MYTH BUSTING – QLD STYLE

This isn’t really new – in fact it was launched on WDD last year. But just in case you missed it, D-QLD has this great campaign busting myths about type 1 diabetes.

IT’S NOT JUST DIABETES

The annoying things we face as people with diabetes translate to other things as well. I was sent a link to this gorgeous blog. It’s written by a mum who has a child with Autism. Her post ‘What not to say to someone who has a child with autism’ is brilliant. This is my favourite part:

If I tell you Poss is on the Spectrum, the appropriate response is not “I’m sorry”. I know it may feel like it’s the right thing to say, but chances are, if I’m telling you, it’s because you need to know – not because I’m after your sympathy. Instead maybe say “ok – what do I need to know?”.  

That thing about wishing that we could legislate against stupidity? It goes far beyond people who say inconsiderate, insensitive, offensive things about diabetes.

DIABETES REVERSED IN MICE

Whatever.

PLEASE FORWARD MY BIONIC PANCREAS ASAP

But THIS! If you’ve missed it somehow (get out from the rock!) there’s been lots about the bionic pancreas all over the interwebs. I spoke about it on the radio.

And here’s a blog from someone who was on the trial.

WEARABLE DIABETES STUFF

Apple (et al) are going to make a diabetes watch! Or something. It’s exciting, although I’m not sure that it will ever really be their core business (see what I did there?).  Anyway, we’ll see if Apple get there first, or if Samsung or Google pip them at the post (and there?). I don’t have in-cider information (I’m done), but hopefully, this is something that will be for real in the next few years. (Thank you! I’m here until Friday; try the chicken.)

Today’s post is dedicated to Jane, who sent me the link to About a Bugg, and recommends you try the veal rather than the chicken.