Aussies woke this morning to the news that Apple has launched a smart watch. And I’m a little excited.

iWant

iWant

Waking nice and early so I could read all the buzz about Apple’s latest launch and find out if the rumours about the new iPhone were true, I logged on to my iDevice and started reading. All the hype (I just typed hypo there….), all the photos, all the information.

I skimmed over the details of the new iPhone 6 and iPhone 6 Plus (which I will not under any circumstances be referring to as a Phablet), reading about the snazzy new camera and the high-tech, bigger and thinner features. But that wasn’t what I was really interested in. There was something else I was hoping to see. And there it was. The ‘one more thing’. The Apple watch.

Firstly, let me get my shallowness out of the way and admit that the initial thing I wanted to know was how it looked. Would it be something that I wanted to wear on my wrist? The answer is abso-freaking-lutely! And with seemingly a billion ways to customise, there is sure to be something that suits everyone. (Obviously, I’m hoping for a stripy band.)

The thing that is of particular interest to me is how I will be able to use the watch to help manage my diabetes. At this stage, I’m not sure that it is particularly revolutionary here.

This is Apple’s first venture into the smart watch market and as a first generation device, it won’t do everything that I would truly love a smart watch to do. As a health tracker, it will currently monitor blood pressure, heart rate and, through whichever app you choose, can be used as an activity tracker.

The dream device, of course, would incorporate some sort of non-invasive, real-time glucose sensor. We’re not there yet. But in a couple of years, I certainly hope that this will be part of the smart watch suite of applications. (Of course, with a cure a mere five years away, this technology will never be needed.)

Call it a gimmick if you’d like, or get on the Apple-bashing bandwagon (there are heaps of people on there already!). But wearable technology like this is going to be how we track, collate and communicate our medical information. People with diabetes are already used to wearing our tech – many of us have insulin pumps hanging from our bodies, tucked away, and glucose sensors taped to our skin. This is already how we roll. Some of us currently use apps on our phones to track our BGLs and keep records.

This is the next step in streamlining our information and data gathering. It’s exciting. It has the potential now (and future generations even more so) to make our lives with diabetes easier. This is all good news.

Plus…it comes in rose gold!

