Dear Diabetes

This afternoon, I am putting on my ‘out of office’ message which means that anytime someone emails me, they will be told to go away and leave me alone that I am on leave for six weeks and I won’t be answering their message. There is no other admin task I enjoy more than clicking the ‘save’ button on this message.

I was hoping that in the spirit of the season and because I am more than just a little tired at the moment, that you might be a pal, and perhaps put YOUR ‘out of office’ message on too. For the next six weeks, how about you take a little holiday from me? You don’t need to go far, in fact, you can even come with me on our family holiday, but only if you promise to behave yourself and not get in the way.

I know you’ve been busy this year with…well…messing with my mind and blood sugars and sending me into the depths of burnout, so maybe having a few weeks of quiet time will be good for you.

If you are looking for some ideas of how to keep yourself busy, I have a few for you:

  • Instead of spending days at a time on rollercoasters, how about you just stay still and quit the highs and lows for a week?
  • Sleep through the night. No waking at 3am after having plummeted to ridiculous lows, or nose-bleed-enducing highs.
  • Be nice and kind to me, remembering that even though I haven’t been looking after you as much as I would like to, I’m doing my best. And I promise that I will do more if you give me just a little breathing space.
  • Read the rule book. Learn the rules. Teach them to me. Stick to them. For ever and ever amen.

Having time off is a really great way to recharge your batteries and get ready for the New Year. After your holiday, you can come back and we can work together again.

Your ‘out of office’ message is a little different to mine. All it has to do is deliver a beautiful number between 4 and 8 on my BGL meter and a CGM line that is straight and in target. Nice and smooth does it. All the time. Even when I spend the day eating nothing but doughnuts from Doughnut Plant. Which I will be doing. A lot.

My ‘out of office’ message will tell people that I will be checking email infrequently. How about you do the same, take a break and only pop in occasionally too? I promise to be nice to you when you do. I promise to pay attention to you if it’s just a short visit.

I would really like a holiday, some time away with my family to explore New York and spend time with friends. It would be lovely if you let me do that.

What do you say?

Here’s hoping!

With affection from the bottom of my pancreas,

Renza signature

