How are you?

I’m fine. (I’m having a ‘diabetes day’ and I’m a little over it.)

You look tired.

Thanks. But really, I’m okay. (I am tired. I didn’t sleep because my BGL was high all night and I was up every ten minutes peeing and drinking water. Also, stop telling me I look tired!)

How is your diabetes going?

Fine. You know, up and down. Thanks for asking. (Still there. Still a pain in the arse. Still ….)

Did you have a bad night? You look like you haven’t slept much.

It wasn’t a great night. But I’m here! I’m okay. Thanks. (Enough with telling me how shit I look!)

Have you seen the doctor recently? I mean, if you are tired and not feeling great then maybe it’s time to see the doctor.

I’m okay. But thanks. (Seriously, you’re not going to acknowledge the ‘up and down’ comment? And no, I haven’t seen a doctor about the ups and downs, because if I was to do that every time I was low or high or low then high or high then low I would spend all my time in the doctor’s office and I have other far more fun things to do. Such as have this conversation.)

You know, sometimes you just need to take a break from things. Have you thought about that?

That’s a great idea. I’ll see what I can do. (I wish I could take a break from diabetes, but it doesn’t work that way. Instead, it’s about working out how to manage things the best I can.)

Or maybe stay home when you have had a not-so-great night.

Hmmm. That’s tough sometimes, but I will think about it. And I’ll just grab another coffee. (If I was to stay home after every not-so-great night, I would end up with a not-so-great work attendance record. Also, coffee. And more coffee.)

Are you sure you are okay?

Okay. The truth of the matter is that I am exhausted today. I had a lousy night and barely slept. Today, I feel like a bus has hit me, reversed and then hit me again. I would really like to curl up and catch up on the sleep I missed last night, but I had to get up to get the kidlet to school and then get to work because they expect me to show up – regardless of diabetes state – and then get home and parent a little more. But the truth of the matter is that I am tired, emotional and plain over it. Thank you for asking me. (You asked…..)

Um. Okay. Um. Let’s catch up soon.

Yes, let’s.  (And let’s not talk about diabetes anymore!)

