The weather this weekend was punishing. Heat waves and diabetes don’t work together well at the best of times, and this was no different. It hit 42 degrees Celsius on Saturday (which translates to over 107 degrees for those of you who speak Fahrenheit).

My BGLs ranged from LO to 30mmol/l over the weekend. And today, with the temperature sitting in the far more respectable low 20s, I am drained, weary and exhausted.

I have started to really understand the way we deal with diabetes things changes over time. A weekend of horribly variable BGLs would always leave me feeling a bit battered, but not like this. Nasty hypos would need a little recovery time, but these days, that time stretches to longer and longer.

I am less able to bounce back feeling ‘back to normal’ takes considerably longer than it once did.

This is, I am sure, a combination of me getting older as well as my diabetes getting older. But when I feel my age most is when I am dealing with diabetes.

I’ve not had diabetes all that long – certainly not when measured against friends younger than me who have had it a lot longer – yet there is a change. Wide variability in my BGLs is draining, leaving me exhausted in ways I’ve never felt exhausted before. It is a bone-weary fatigue that overtakes my very being.

And the only way I know how to try to avoid those swings is to wear my Dexcom all the time. I have been really quite averse to this – I don’t like the constant alarms, I don’t like the look of the device on my body all the time and I don’t like having numbers available to me at all times. But it is the only way.

Because even when I am lacking motivation, I will do something – even something small – to respond to the alarms and the out of range numbers.

Tomorrow afternoon I head off on three weeks of leave and I will be wearing my CGM throughout that time. Having a break will mean that there is more of a chance for me to pay attention, respond to and catch rogue ‘excursions’ (sounds far more fun than they are!).

I know what will happen. I will see better numbers, which in turns makes me feel better, which in turn makes me feel more motivated, which in turn means that I take more care with everything; which in turn means I see better numbers, and Hakuna Matata, it’s the circle of diabetes.

The hot weather is only just starting here, opportunities for rollercoaster days will be many. But I have the tools at hand to try to stop them, or at least manage them as well as possible. And I’d be stupid not to.

We were a little excited the other day to discover that Kermit Ruffins has a holiday album. Disappointingly, it hasn’t been added to our collection yet, but here is a taste!