I’m back home after three days on the Gold Coast for part of this year’s Australia Diabetes Society – Australian Diabetes Educators Association conference. More to come next week, when I’ll try to pull together my very messy notes.

For today, here are some pictures!

 

As I took the stage to chair one of two sessions at the Roche Educators Day in Tuesday, I realised I had already been up for seven hours. It was only 11am. Sentences were difficult until my fourth coffee of the day kicked in!

 

On the job. Professor Steven Boyages’ talk: A connected ecosystem for healthcare professionals & their patients’ was full of practical tips about using technology to support people with diabetes.

 

img_5957

This was the moment I opened the new NDSS Diabetes and Emotional Health Handbook (for health professionals supporting people with diabetes) and I saw Diabetogenic on page 24! Thanks for capturing, Professor Jane Speight!

 

Proud moment!

 

Advocates running amok. We actually behaved ourselves quite well. Mostly.

 

Although, we were mighty busy! Three of the top four influencers at the conference happen to be consumer advocates, sharing information from the conference specifically with the intention of reaching other PWD who could not be in the room.

 

Martha Funnell used this in her talk on day one. Sums up many, many days!

 

Rather proud of this special young lass. Here’s Ashley presenting on her work focussing on the needs of young people with type 1 diabetes.

 

This is a combination of jet lag and exhaustion. (Jet lag belonged to Harriet.)

 

The NDSS stand looked very bright thanks to these beautiful resources from the Young People with Diabetes Program.

 

And another proud moment. Kim’s outstanding work on the national roll out of Mastering Diabetes means this resource is in the hands of those who need it most: children with type 1 diabetes, their families and schools. Well done, Kim! (And I’m holding Moving on Up which I am equally proud of!)

 

Spot the diabetes devices….

 

Gold Coast.

Proper wrap up coming next week. Enjoy your weekend. I know I certainly will! (But you can play catch up by checking out all the #ADSADEA2016 tweets.)