In my alternate reality, the alternate fact is living with diabetes is easy-peasy-lemon-squeezy.

In my alternate reality, the alternate fact is living with diabetes is affordable.

In my alternate reality, the alternate fact is everyone around the world can access free insulin and other diabetes supplies.

In my alternate reality, the alternate fact is there are enough HCPs who understand diabetes.

In my alternate reality, the alternate fact is that person-centred care is real, not just three words in a row.

In my alternate reality, the alternate fact is that diabetes stigma does not exist.

In my alternate reality, the alternate fact is diabetes technology never, ever fails.

In my alternate reality, the alternate fact is fresh, healthy foods are easily and affordably accessible for all.

In my alternate reality, the alternate fact is everyone with diabetes has the support they need.

In my alternate reality, the alternate fact is that nobody dies from diabetes.

In my alternate reality, the alternate fact is there is no judgement in diabetes. Ever.

In my alternate reality, the alternate fact is diabetes is not a punchline on SNL.

In my alternate reality, the alternate fact is reported accurately and sensitively by the media.

In my alternate reality, the alternate fact is diabetes is spoken about with inclusive, empowering language.

In my alternate reality, the alternate fact is coffee is a food group. And so is Nutella.

In my alternate reality, the alternate fact is my favourite DOC people lived on the other side of the street, not the other side of the globe.

In my alternate reality, the alternate fact is diabetes conferences are organised by people with diabetes.

In my alternate reality, the alternate fact is true engagement with people with diabetes is not tokenistic, but rather intrinsic, coordinated and meaningful.

In my alternate reality, the alternate fact is insulin pump lines never fail.

In my alternate reality, the alternate fact is children with diabetes have the same opportunities as children without.

In my alternate reality, the alternate fact is my CGM always reads 5.5.

Actually, in my alternate reality, the alternate fact is that I don’t have diabetes.

Alas, there is no alternate reality. And there are no alternate facts.

Brilliant! From illustrator, Tim O’Brien (click image for details).


 

